MOMENTS IN TIME

The young girl sits on her grandma’s back porch during the heat of summer, feeling every bead of sweat that rolls down her skinny little back.  She is sure everyone is judging her, having bad thoughts about her, whispering about her behind her back. (This isn’t the case, for the most part).  She is angry- they didn’t understand, they will never understand, hell she doesn’t understand. “Come talk to me a minute.” She hears a familiar calm voice summon her.  She doesn’t want to talk, not to anyone, about anything. Out of respect she follows the woman outside and they sit on the tailgate of someone’s pick-up truck.  Although she can’t make direct-eye contact, she listens. (She blocks out most people and the few she chooses to listen to she does her best to keep them from knowing).  There is no scorning, no judging or preaching.  “I may not know how you are feeling, but I believe that things will get better for you.  I don’t know exactly what to say but I can tell you I love you very much. After every storm the sun eventually comes out again.”  Her heart feels unconditionally loved.  This is the first time after an extensive stay at Charter Forrest that the 15 year-old “delinquent” feels just a glimpse of hope.  These are just a few moments in time that someone wanting nothing from her, made a profound impact on her life.  There are some things she will never forget.

Thank you Aunt Rosie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Written:09/06/2010

About beautifulmess3025

I'll forgive you long before I forgive myself. I'll push you away while I am longing to hold you. I find myself thinking of how much you mean to me..without saying it nearly enough. My son is teaching me how to love, laugh, and live:)
This entry was posted in FAMILY, POETRY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

