INMATE MAIL/NOT CENSORED

We got your letter
Two days after the call
Was received politely
Requesting our address
And I read it to him
At his request, as he
Listened intently, quietly,
Then informed me that he
Wanted to draw you a picture
With the two of you holding hands
Together…together holding hands
And color you a picture of Batman.
Did I think you would be able
To hang it on your wall?
Did I think you would like it?
Well to answer just a few questions:
No, he can’t read yet. (He’s still 4).
His favorite color is purple.
He goes to daycare, entertains
His teachers and plays
With his entourage of buddies.
He’s into Batman, Spiderman,
And Superman (In that order).
He’s just…well he’s just amazing.
Is he going to think you’re a bad guy?
Is he going to hate you because of
Where your drinking and poor
Choices have landed you?
Well, those just aren’t
My questions to answer.
You say you could ask
A million questions…
Well guess what?
He would still be a dozen
Up on you.

About beautifulmess3025

I'll forgive you long before I forgive myself. I'll push you away while I am longing to hold you. I find myself thinking of how much you mean to me..without saying it nearly enough. My son is teaching me how to love, laugh, and live:)
This entry was posted in POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

